2nd Annual Battle for Iowa Island

Snipe Jockeys repeat as champions

Great competition was in abundance at the second annual Battle for Iowa Island held at the Mystique Community Ice Center in Dubuque. Teams from Wisconsin, Illinois, Missouri as well as Iowa faced off in two divisions. Top honors belong to the Iceholes from Madison who stormed back from two goals down late in the third period of the gold medal game to overtake the boys from Green Bay and raise the cup as Tier II champions. Tier III saw a similar result as John Lyzun lead his Snipe Jockeys team to victory for a second straight year; the team scoring the go ahead goal with just over a minute to play. Individual awards went to Tony Olson (GB Iceaholics) and Mickey Foley (Snipe Jockeys) as leading scorers with top goaltender honors going to Jim Stanaway (GB Iceaholics) and Austin Willenborg (Dubuque).

Featured Posts